Person on a phone call with an open folder to ask about Progressive SR22 insurance

Progressive SR-22: How the Filing Works and What Drivers Pay

Last updated: October 20, 2026

Progressive SR22 insurance is the most visible option in 2026 price lists. It’s also one of the most criticized on review sites. Both facts are true, and this guide shows the sources behind each.

The guide covers how the filing works and what Progressive says it costs. It also shows how third-party studies rank its prices, and what rating and complaint data reveal. Because we didn’t buy a policy, nothing here is first-hand experience.

Progressive SR22 Insurance: How the Filing Works

Progressive’s SR-22 page (updated April 9, 2026) describes how it files. For new customers in most states, it files the SR-22 electronically with the DMV right after purchase. In certain states it files by mail. It says many insurers, including Progressive, can file an SR-22 anywhere in the United States.

On price, Progressive says an SR-22 costs approximately $25 to file, though the cost may vary by state. It includes the filing fee in your cost for each policy term. You typically pay it each term while the SR-22 is required, so the fee repeats.

New customers tell Progressive they need an SR-22 when they request a quote. Existing customers can call, or log in online or in the app. The page gives no state-by-state list, so we couldn’t verify which states Progressive excludes. Ask when you quote.

Non-Owners and FR-44 at Progressive

Progressive’s non-owner page (updated August 15, 2023) says it can provide an SR-22 for a non-owners policy, generally at about $25. Our non-owner SR22 guide explains who needs one.

Its FR-44 page (also August 15, 2023) says it files the form used in Florida and Virginia, and new customers specify the need. It states no FR-44 filing fee. Both pages are older than the main SR-22 page, so confirm current terms. Our SR22 vs FR-44 guide covers the limits.

What Progressive SR22 Insurance Costs in 2026 Studies

Progressive appears in four of the five price lists we compiled in our cheapest SR22 insurance companies comparison, but it doesn’t always rank first.

SourceDateProfileMonthly priceRank
Forbes Advisor (audited)June 17, 202640-year-old, full coverage at 100/300/100, after a DUI$240Lowest of the 5 insurers listed
ValuePenguinSeptember 25, 2026Full coverage, one DUI$268Second, behind Erie at $256
MoneyGeek (updated)September 1, 2026Minimum coverage$169Fifth
AutoInsurance.orgSeptember 2026Not stated$122Seventh of ten insurers
Forbes Advisor (high-risk list)September 23, 2026Not stated$255Fourth

Prices are monthly. Each study uses a different driver profile, so compare a row only with its own source.

State-level pages show Progressive at the top in two cases. Insurance.com’s Georgia page (April 14, 2026) puts the average first-DUI price at $4,599 a year with Progressive lowest at $3,176, about 31% below the average. MoneyGeek’s Michigan page (April 29, 2026) names Progressive cheapest at $167 a month for minimum SR22 coverage.

NerdWallet lists Progressive at $2,852 a year after a DUI against a $4,433 national average, for full coverage and a 35-year-old, with no date on the page. In Illinois, ValuePenguin (June 30, 2026) puts Progressive at $1,005 a year for a DUI plus SR22, second behind State Farm at $994.

Financial Strength and Complaints

AM Best rates Progressive Casualty Insurance Company A+ (Superior) with a stable outlook, effective May 1, 2026. CarInsurance.com (August 13, 2026) lists an NAIC complaint index of 0.71 for Progressive, and a score below 1.0 means fewer complaints than expected for its size. The article doesn’t state the data year.

Consumer review sites tell a different story. Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 1,933 reviews for progressive.com, with 92% one-star and 2% five-star, and the latest review dated September 18, 2026. Reviewers cite rate increases, claim communication and denials, slow responses, and long waits for support. A minority praise smooth policy transfers and helpful staff.

The BBB profile for the Progressive Corporation in Mayfield Village, Ohio, shows a B- rating, not BBB accredited, with a failure to respond to 11 complaints listed as a rating factor. BBB has many separate Progressive profiles, so this is one of several. NerdWallet says Progressive ranked 18th of 20 in J.D. Power’s 2025 auto claims satisfaction study, and that it draws fewer complaints to state regulators than expected. NerdWallet rates it 4.8 stars overall.

So regulator data and review-site data disagree. Both are incomplete, since review sites reflect who chooses to post and NAIC data reflects filed complaints. Check your state insurance department’s complaint data before you buy.

How Progressive Compares With the Specialists

Progressive and Dairyland both hold A+ from AM Best. On NerdWallet’s September 1, 2026 ratings, Progressive scores 4.8 stars. Dairyland scores 4.3, The General 4.2, Bristol West 3.8, and National General 3.4. The specialists also don’t appear in the 2026 price lists where Progressive does.

That doesn’t make Progressive the right choice for everyone. Specialists exist for drivers whom standard carriers decline. Read our reviews of Dairyland, The General, Bristol West, and National General if Progressive declines you.

So Progressive SR22 insurance works best as a first quote, not a last resort. If it declines you or prices you out, move to the specialists. If the specialists decline you too, read our guide to assigned risk pool car insurance.

Keep the Policy Active

Progressive says that if your policy cancels or lapses while you carry an SR-22, it notifies the DMV, and the DMV suspends your license. That makes billing the risk to manage. Set autopay, and keep the payment date within a few days of payday.

Read our guide to SR22 lapse or cancellation for what follows a notice, and our SR22 down payment guide for what your first payment includes. Progressive’s page doesn’t state a down payment amount, so ask for it in writing.

Progressive SR22 Insurance Questions to Ask Before You Buy

  • Does Progressive file in my state, and how quickly after purchase?
  • What is the SR-22 fee for each policy term, and does it change at renewal?
  • What is the down payment, and what’s the installment fee for monthly billing?
  • If I own no car, can I get a non-owners policy with the filing?
  • Does this quote use the same limits as my other quotes?

Match limits across quotes. Forbes Advisor’s Progressive price used full coverage at 100/300/100 for a 40-year-old, while MoneyGeek’s used minimum coverage. A quote at different limits isn’t comparable, so a low Progressive SR22 insurance quote means little until you check the limits.

A Simple Test for a Progressive Quote

Use a two-step test. First, ask Progressive for a quote at the same limits as your best competing offer. Second, add the filing fee for each policy term and the down payment, and compare the total for the first six months. If Progressive still wins, you have a real price advantage.

Do this with at least three other insurers. Our cheapest SR22 insurance companies comparison lists who else appears in 2026 price rankings, and our SR22 down payment guide explains what to compare on the first bill.

Who Should Start With Progressive

  • Drivers who still qualify for standard carriers, since Progressive shows up cheapest in several 2026 lists.
  • Drivers who want a large company that files SR22 immediately on purchase in most states.
  • Non-owners and Florida or Virginia drivers, who should confirm the current non-owner and FR-44 terms by phone.

Get Progressive in a group of five quotes, not alone. The price lists put it near the top, but the same lists put State Farm, Travelers, GEICO, and Erie close behind. Our best high risk auto insurance companies guide shows how they compare, and our average cost of SR22 insurance by state page shows the price context.

Our view: Progressive SR22 insurance is where to start on price, and where to check complaint data before you sign. If a quote comes back cheap, confirm the fee per term and the down payment. Then decide.

This article contains no affiliate or quote links. If we add any, we will disclose them here. Figures were checked on September 29, 2026 against the sources named above.


The team at High Risk Auto Guide isn’t a licensed insurance agency. The information in this article is educational and based on official, verified sources as of the date noted. Confirm the details that apply to your specific case with your state’s DMV/BMV or with your own insurance company.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top